LTH Logo




Research on polymers and functional polymer materials

The division has an active research in both fundamental and applied areas of polymer and macromolecular science and engineering. The relationships between macromolecular structure, microstructure and different materials properties of homogeneous and heterogeneous polymers are central within our research. Great efforts are placed on controlling and studying the structure and properties of heterogeneous polymer systems such as block and graft copolymers, ionomers, blends, nano-composites and biopolymers. This includes the design, synthesis and functionalization of complex macromolecular structures using a variety of polymerization strategies, as well as an extensive characterization of their structural, thermal, viscoelastic and transport properties such as detection of free volume dimensions in polymer materials. These characterizations are of relevance for polymer electrolyte membranes, packaging materials, polymer coatings, and membranes for separation processes and controlled release.

Contact: Frans H.J. Maurer and Patric Jannasch

Characterisation and synthesis of inorganic materials

Materials characterisation and structure determination is carried out using techniques such as high resolution transmission electron microscopy (HRTEM) for determining the structure of nanoscale materials at atomic resolution, scanning electron microscopy in combination with energy dispersive x-ray analysis (EDX) or electron energy loss spectroscopy (EELS) for determining chemical composition at nanometer resolution and various x-ray diffraction techniques (both at the department and using the synchrotron source at MaxLab). Materials that are investigated include nano structured semiconductors (in collaboration with the Lund nanometer structure consortium, nmC@LU), catalysts (in collaboration with the Department of Chemical Engineering), clay minerals for nuclear waste storage and thermoelectric compounds. The latter are also synthesised at the division.

Contact: Sven Lidin,  Staffan HansenReine Wallenberg and Jan-Olle Malm


 PhD and Licenciate Theses